Gazette notice — term limits for national pharmacy board members

At the meeting held on 15 July 2020, the Royal Pharmaceutical Society Assembly agreed that national pharmacy board members should only be permitted to serve in office as a board member for a maximum of three consecutive terms of office, with a single term of office remaining at the current length of three years. After three consecutive terms, a break of one term will now be required before an individual can stand for election again to the same national pharmacy board.

The current terms for all serving national pharmacy board members will be deemed to be the first term of the possible three, and all current board members will only be eligible to stand for a maximum of two further terms before they are required to take a one-term break if they wish to stand again to the same board.

Full details of the changes, which will take effect from 1 October 2020, can be found on the Society’s website.

Any member who wishes to comment to the Assembly on the changes is asked to do so by 18 September 2020. Comments should be sent to

Last updated
The Pharmaceutical Journal, Gazette notice — term limits for national pharmacy board members;Online:DOI:10.1211/PJ.2020.20208186

You may also be interested in