GPhC appoints five new members to council

General Pharmaceutical Council signage

The General Pharmaceutical Council (GPhC) has appointed five new members to its council.

The new members include three from the pharmacy profession: Aamer Safdar, principal pharmacist and lead for education and development at Guy’s and St Thomas’ NHS Foundation Trust; Ann Jacklin, the professional lead for the Carter Review Programme, Mental Health and Community Services for NHS Improvement; and pharmacy technician Penny Hopkins, who is national healthcare development executive at AAH Pharmaceuticals.

The new non-pharmacy members are Neil Buckley, chief executive, accounting officer and board member of the Legal Services Board; and Rima Makarem, external commissioner and audit chair at the House of Commons Commission.

The new members will replace Berwyn Owen, David Prince, Mary Elford, Mohammed Hussain and Samantha Quaye, all of whom are stepping down at the end of March 2019 after completing two terms.

Nigel Clarke, chair of the GPhC, said he was “delighted” with the appointments, adding that he is “sure they will all make a significant contribution to helping us achieve our aims of assuring patient safety and improving quality in pharmacy practice”.

Last updated
The Pharmaceutical Journal, GPhC appoints five new members to council;Online:DOI:10.1211/PJ.2019.20206291

You may also be interested in