Jacqueline Sneddon confirmed as new chair of RPS Antimicrobial Expert Advisory Group

Jacqueline Sneddon new chair of RPS antimicrobial expert advisory group-2018

Jacqueline Sneddon FFRPS has been elected as new chair of the Royal Pharmaceutical Society’s (RPS) Antimicrobial Expert Advisory Group (AEAG).

Sneddon is currently project lead for the Scottish Antimicrobial Prescribing Group and chair of the UK Clinical Pharmacy Association Pharmacy Infection Network. She has a pharmacy degree from Herriot-Watt University, as well as an MSc in clinical pharmacy and a doctorate in medicinal chemistry, both from the University of Strathclyde. Sneddon has worked in hospital pharmacy across a range of areas including aseptic dispensing, surgery and intensive care.

Sneddon takes over from Harpal Dhillon, who has chaired the group for the last three years, and she said: “I am delighted to be taking over from Harpal and look forward to working with group members from across the four UK nations to continue to provide advice to the RPS on AMR matters.” She added that she was also keen to get more pharmacists from all sectors engaged in antimicrobial stewardship.

Paul Bennett, chief executive of the RPS, welcomed Sneddon to her new post and added that she “has been a highly valued member of the group since 2015 and brings a wealth of expertise, experience and networks that will continue to benefit the RPS AEAG and our profession.”

Bennett added that he was “very thankful to Harpal Dhillon for his chairmanship over the past three years and for his and the group’s support and advice in developing our antimicrobial resistance and stewardship campaign, launched last year.”

Last updated
The Pharmaceutical Journal, Jacqueline Sneddon confirmed as new chair of RPS Antimicrobial Expert Advisory Group;Online:DOI:10.1211/PJ.2018.20204463

You may also be interested in