Suzanne Scott-Thomas receives special recognition award

The chair of the Royal Pharmaceutical Society’s Welsh Pharmacy Board has received an award in recognition of her “years of contribution to Welsh pharmacy”.

Bridget McCabe; Suzanne Scott-Thomas, Mair Davies and Chris Flannagan

Suzanne Scott-Thomas, chair of the Royal Pharmaceutical Society (RPS) Welsh Pharmacy Board (WPB) and clinical director/head of medicines management Cwm Taf Morgannwg University Health Board, has received a special recognition award at the 2019 Welsh Pharmacy Awards.  

The awards ceremony followed the 2019 Welsh Pharmacy Conference, which was held at the Vale Resort near Cardiff on 23 May 2019. 

In a statement, Medcom Wales, the event organiser, said that the award recognised Scott-Thomas’s “years of contribution to Welsh pharmacy”.  

As a practising hospital pharmacist, Scott-Thomas has been chair of the WPB since 2015 and has held her role at Cwm Taf University Health Board since 2016.

She said that she was “surprised but very humbled and proud” to receive the award, and that her colleagues in RPS Wales and Cwm Taf Morgannwg University Health Board, and other chief pharmacists in Wales, had “a positive vision of how pharmacy can develop for the better [and] amazing can-do attitudes”.  

Scott-Thomas also offered thanks to Mair Davies, director of RPS Wales, for “her significant support”. Davies herself said that Scott-Thomas was “an inspirational chair, a true leader who has engaged with, and represented, the RPS at local and national level”.

“Because of her leadership abilities, her views and opinions are sought on issues of national relevance by many organisations in Wales and across Great Britain,” Davies added. 

“She should be proud of what she has achieved, particularly in the areas of leadership and practice innovation.”

Last updated
The Pharmaceutical Journal, PJ, June 2019, Vol 302, No 7926;302(7926):DOI:10.1211/PJ.2019.20206600

You may also be interested in