RPS English Pharmacy Board 2022 results announced

Ewan Maule, Emma Boxer and Adebayo Adegbite have been voted on to the English Pharmacy Board for the first time, joining re-elected member Sibby Buckle and past member Brendon Jiang.
Emma Boxer, Adebayo Adegbite and Ewan Maule

Three new people have been elected to the Royal Pharmaceutical Society’s (RPS’s) English Pharmacy Board (EPB).

Ewan Maule, Emma Boxer and Adebayo Adegbite were voted on to the board for the first time, while current board member Sibby Buckle was re-elected and Brendon Jiang returns after having originally sat on the board between June 2019 and June 2021.

There were ten candidates standing for five places on the EPB.

In Scotland, three candidates were elected unopposed to the Scottish Pharmacy Board (SPB): Joshua Miller, Richard Shearer and Jill Swan.

On 18 March 2022, in a process separate to the elections, Kelsey Drummond was co-opted to the SPB to represent early career pharmacists and will sit on the board for two years. 

In Wales, Liz Hallett was elected unopposed to the ‘any sector’ place on the Welsh Pharmacy Board.

Claire Anderson, president of the RPS, said: “I’m delighted to welcome our new board members across Great Britain and look forward to working with them to champion the profession and put pharmacy at the forefront of healthcare.

“I’d like to say a big thank you to all the candidates who stood and were not elected for their courage in putting themselves forward and contributing to the debate.

“I’d also like to personally thank RPS EPB member Andre Yeung for all his hard work in his additional role as RPS treasurer.”

Voter turnout for England was 7.9%, a drop on the 11.8% turnout recorded in 2021, which Anderson described as “disappointing”.

“We have now appointed an independent review of how RPS members, elected members and stakeholders can feel more engaged and empowered to influence RPS decisions, and eagerly await its recommendations,” she added.

All newly elected board members will hold their seats for three years and will formally take office at 00:01 on 21 June 2022. 

A breakdown of the turnout and result for England is included below.

Number of individuals eligible to vote19,512
Total number of individuals who voted1,534
Total number of votes6,038
Total number of individuals voting online1,533
Total number of individuals voting over the phone1
Number of spoiled/invalid ballot papers0
Results (five to elect)
NameNumber of Votes  
Ewan Maule809Elected
Brendon Jiang743Elected
Sharon ‘Sibby’ Buckle725Elected
Emma Boxer710Elected
Adebayo Adegbite701Elected
Last updated
The Pharmaceutical Journal, PJ, May 2022, Vol 308, No 7961;308(7961)::DOI:10.1211/PJ.2022.1.142613

    Please leave a comment 

    You may also be interested in