Suzanne Scott-Thomas takes fourth term as chair of Welsh Pharmacy Board

The chair of the Royal Pharmaceutical Society’s Welsh Pharmacy Board, Suzanne Scott-Thomas, will take a fourth term at her post.

Suzanne Scott-Thomas

Suzanne Scott-Thomas has been re-appointed as chair of the Royal Pharmaceutical Society’s (RPS’s) Welsh Pharmacy Board (WPB). Her appointment was agreed during a meeting of the WPB held at the Society’s Cardiff offices on 12 June 2019, after no other candidates were nominated.

As chair of the WPB, Scott-Thomas also retains her seat on the RPS Assembly.

Scott-Thomas was first elected to the role of chair in October 2015, taking over from Mair Davies when the latter stepped down to become director for Wales. She was then re-elected in June 2016, for one year, and again in June 2017 for a two-year term. She will now hold the role for a further year.

“The respect, values and behaviours which we demonstrate in undertaking the work of the RPS and WPB is something we should be proud of, and is something I will be fostering going forward,” Scott-Thomas said.

She added that she was “keen to consider how can engage better and encourage the early years pharmacists to maintain their membership and value what the RPS delivers for them”.

Scott-Thomas also offered thanks to the WPB for “supporting me in the past and for having confidence in me for the future”.

Cheryl Way, national pharmacy and medicines management lead at NHS Wales Informatics Service, was elected to the position of vice-chair of the WPB.

Way, a member of the WPB since June 2015, takes over from Paul Harris, who held the position of vice chair for three years. 

Jamie Hayes, pharmacist and director at the All Wales Therapeutics and Toxicology Centre and a board member since June 2016, was elected to sit on the RPS Assembly alongside Scott-Thomas.

Last updated
The Pharmaceutical Journal, Suzanne Scott-Thomas takes fourth term as chair of Welsh Pharmacy Board;Online:DOI:10.1211/PJ.2019.20206678

You may also be interested in